Frost Moon (Skindancer #1) by Anthony Francis

Released: March 2010 (ARC)
Format: e-books
Pages: 314
Publisher: Bell Bridge
ISBN-13: not available

I got an advance copy of Frost Moon, Anthony Francis‘ debut novel, in early March through the Early Reviewer/Member Giveaway group at LibraryThing. It’s also available as a mass market paperback in the States, though it doesn’t show up on Canadian online bookstore pages.

The email from the publisher describes the story as follows:

Vamps, shifters, mages, magical tattoos that come alive: all set in an alternate Atlanta where the southern Edgeworld is filled with surprises and danger. Magical tattooist Dakota Frost helps the Atlanta P.D. track a serial killer who slices the tattoos off his victims.

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this story when I started. The idea of magical tattoos and skindancing was pretty cool, and made me want to read the novel. And Dakota is a decent protagonist, though she sometimes comes off as being far too deliberately edgy – she’s got a mohawk, she’s bisexual, she’s a tattoo artist – all things that might be used to construct a rebel persona. There are also some standard tropes – attraction to someone who may or may not be the bad guy; dark, BDSM vampires (à la LKH); and the wild and headstrong teen (albeit this one’s a were) – but the story is still entertaining. That being said, Frost Moon really feels like a debut novel. I loved some of the supporting characters, like Jinx and Cinnamon, but the book still lacks a little something. I can’t quite label what it’s missing but it’s the difference between a story you enjoy and one you just can’t put down. Because I did put it down, a couple times, with no remorse.

While I’m happy that I didn’t purchase the story, I’d still borrow the second book in the series when it comes out at the library.

This is the third book in my Debut Urban Fantasy Authors challenge.

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Frost Moon (Skindancer #1) by Anthony Francis”

  1. Cat says :

    I have an advance e-copy of this book in PDF on my laptop and I have been procrastinating in reading it because I can’t read (long) on my computer without getting a migraine. I was hoping to find it in the stores, but you’re right, Canada doesn’t even list it anywhere. Drat.

    So far most of the books that have come from Bell Bridge I have enjoyed so I really should just try and get through this pdf!

  2. jenn says :

    This is the first book I’ve read from Bell Bridge. I think it’s worth a skim but you could always try to get it from the Book Depository if you’re really interested.

Leave a Reply

