Wild Hunt (Hunt #2) by Margaret Ronald

Released: January 11, 2010
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Pages: 309
Publisher: Eos
ISBN-13: 978-0-06-166242-3

Wild Hunt is Genevieve Scelan’s second outing and I was very excited to pick it up. I adored the first book in the series, Spiral Hunt, and have been waiting for a chance to have a new adventure with this group of characters. Unfortunately, I was a little disappointed with how it all went.

In Wild Hunt, Evie is dealing with ramifications of defeating the Fiana (in the last book). There’s a power vacuum in Boston and all sorts of new players are coming to town. Some of them want to test her, some of them want to be employed by her, but everyone has an agenda.

Margaret Ronald does a fine job writing the story but the plot didn’t capture me the way the first book did. I put it down a few times and didn’t really mind the gap. I’m not sure why I liked this book less since the writing is still of the same quality, but I just didn’t. Maybe it’s what she’s doing with Nate, maybe the plot wasn’t as interesting, maybe my expectations were too high…in any case, it’s still a good book but not one I’ll rave about. Sadness.

Tags:

3 responses to “Wild Hunt (Hunt #2) by Margaret Ronald”

  1. horseideology says :

    Reading her blog, it seems that MR was really on a tight deadline to get this book done. I think it showed in the lack of the editing and cohesiveness in the story – some stuff should have been tightened up but I guess lack of time let it go through when it should not have.

    Some problems for me:

    1.) the storyline of Abigail was just too confusing. It had some really interesting, spooky ghost-possession stuff that was building but just seemed to fizzle out.

    2.) Her friend, Sarah, was under utilized though I liked the idea of her having to bring together the magic workers in a “herding the cats” kinda way.

    3.) Her Hound senses weren’t played up as much. Evie kinda read too much like any old person instead of the unique individual she is.

    I’ve written more about it over here
    http://sffbookworm.wordpress.com/2010/07/11/wild-hunt-margaret-ronald/

    Hopefully, the next one will be better edited and plotted 🙂

  2. jenn says :

    I agree that Sarah was under used, though I liked the idea of someone trying to unite Boston’s magical community. Sarah came off a lot softer in this book, too. I liked that she was so ruthlessly dedicated in Spiral Hunt.

    I’m still trying to decide if I like where Margaret Ronald’s taking Nate. I’m holding off judgment until the next book because it could be really interesting but we’ll see.

    I’ve got my fingers crossed for book 3.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Soul Hunt (Hunt #3) by Margaret Ronald « I READ GOOD - January 22, 2011

Leave a Reply

