Adding another reading challenge

I just found out that Dark Faerie Tales is hosting a 2010 reading challenge for debut urban fantasy authors. How did I not know about this before? I’m going to hop on the boat and see if I can make it.

The goal is to read 15 new urban fantasy authors, based on the list provided. So far, I’ve read two of the 25 books mentioned:

  1. Spider’s Bite (Elemental Assassin #1) by Jennifer Estep (my thoughts here)
  2. Night Tides by Alex Prentiss, which I did not review because I didn’t have anything terribly positive to say about it

I’ve also read some debut urban fantasy from authors who aren’t listed on Dark Faerie Tale’s page — Dark and Disorderly by Bernita Harris, Tempting the Enemy by Dee Tenorio, Allegra Fairweather: Paranormal Investigator by Janni Nell — and would like to count those towards my total as well but we shall see.

I will definitely be reading these title from the list on the challenge page:

  1. Embers by Laura Bickle
  2. Mind Games by Carolyn Crane
  3. Frost Moon by Anthony Francis
  4. Shadow Bound by Erin Kellison
  5. Grave Witch by Kalayna Price
  6. Feed by Mira Grant
  7. A Devil in the Details by K. A. Stewart
  8. Death Most Definite by Trent Jamieson

I’m not sure if I’ll make it to 15 if I only go by the list since some of the other books on it don’t really appeal to me but we’ll see how it goes. (I’m not going to say which, since that would be unkind, but hopefully some more titles get added so that I can complete this reading challenge.)

Leave a Reply

