Girl From Mars

Released: June 11, 2009

Format: Paperback

Pages: 416

Publisher: Little Black Dress

ISBN: 978-0755341399

First off, my apologies for not posting for ages. But the advantage to being a co-blogger is knowing that Jenn is keeping you all entertained.

But now for the main attraction, the most romantic book I’ve read in ages: Girl from Mars by Julie Cohen.

This book was absolutely un-putdownable. It involves three exceptionally geeky friends (OK, I already relate), who make a pact never to get involved in any romantic relationships. As luck would have it, the main character Philomena (aka Fil), meets the man of her dreams immediately after she takes the vow (partly in Klingon). She is torn: she has totally fallen for the new guy, but her old friends make it pretty clear they want her to focus on X-Files marathons with them.

The characters are fairly deep in this story, and I got pretty invested in finding out how things would go. Most of them are pretty vulnerable, and Cohen has made you understand their histories, their motivations and reactions, so you really want things to turn out OK for them. Innocent, caring Fil is especially adorable, and every character grows a little by the end.

I don’t want to give too much away about the love story, but I found it genuinely romantic. The fact that the book was set in the world of comics was also really cool (I’ve never read a romance novel with a key scene at ComicCon before).ย  I’ve been up and down about Little Black Dress books in the past, but this one’s making me want to check out some more Julie Cohen. Hurray for new author finds!

3 responses to “Girl From Mars”

  1. jenn says :

    Hello, my wayward co-blogger! This book sounds great. You may have to lend it to me in the near future. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Julie Cohen says :

    Hey, I’m really glad you liked it! Thanks for the review and for picking up the book.

    I think the hardest thing about writing it was double-checking that all the Klingon was spelled correctly…

    Julie x

  3. geetabix says :

    I just assumed you were fluent ๐Ÿ™‚ Honestly, I loved the story and all the nerdisms, so thank you for writing such an enjoyable book. I’ll be on the lookout for your other titles.

Leave a Reply

