Here’s the Story: Surviving Marcia Brady and Finding My True Voice by Maureen McCormick

Released: October 14, 2008
Format: e-book (also out in Trade Paperback now)
Pages: 288
Publisher: HarperCollins e-books
ISBN-13: 978-0-061-49015-6 (print)
ISBN-10: 0-061-49014-8 (print)

I borrowed this book from the library on a lark. I was never the biggest Brady Bunch fan, though I do remember watching the series occasionally, but I enjoy biographies a lot so I figured I’d give it a shot. The publisher’s blurb made it sound like Maureen McCormick went to the dark side for a while, and I figured it would pass the time, if nothing else, and I was right.

Here’s the Story is a decent autobiography. Maureen McCormick is open and honest about her fears and problems, and she’s had an incredible journey in her life so far. Despite that, I found it really easy to put the book down and get things done, which doesn’t usually happen if I’m really into the story. (I read Laurell K. Hamilton‘s Flirt in one sitting, for example.) And by the end, I felt the book was getting a little preachy, but that could just be me. Overall, it’s a nice, non-academic read, which is what I was really looking for when I picked it up.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

