Dark and Disorderly by Bernita Harris

Released: June 28, 2010
Format: e-book
Pages: 258
Publisher: Carina
ISBN-13: 978-1-4268-9033-8

Dark and Disorderly is Bernita Harris‘ debut novel. This is another galley from Carina Press; many thanks to them for letting me read the book before its general release. (I’ve already talked about Allegra Fairweather: Paranormal Investigator, another novel I received from Carina.)

Dark and Disorderly is Lillie St. Claire’s story. Lillie is a Talent with the ability to dispatch ghosts. She also happens to be recently widowed, and now her dead  husband’s out to get her. When not dispelling ghosts for the city (her day job), Lillie is trying to figure out who’s using her dead husband to get to her, with some help from a federal agent, John Thresher.

I was hooked by Dark and Disorderly right from the opening scene, when Lillie is ambushed by her dead husband in the bathroom. It was such a gripping start and made me so excited to read on. In fact, the whole book was amazing! Lillie’s a fantastic protagonist – spunky, stubborn, and realistic – and the author’s built a wonderful world. I love the fact that Lillie has a contract with the municipal government for ghostbusting and that she’s a cog in the administrative wheel, albeit an under-appreciated and somewhat reviled one. Plus, John Tresher has suitably mysterious motives and backstory, and I can’t wait to learn more about him.

Since Bernita Harris’ website is a blog, I don’t know if there’s another book in the works but I really hope so. She’s done a fantastic job with Dark and Disorderly and I’d love to read more of Lillie’s adventures.

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Dark and Disorderly by Bernita Harris”

  1. laughingwolf says :

    more praise for your deserving book, bernita 🙂

  2. Bernita says :

    Jenn, thank you for a such a lovely review!
    And yes, there will be a sequel.

  3. jenn says :

    I’m so excited to hear that you’ll be publishing a sequel! I can’t wait to read more Lillie. 🙂

  4. Chet Radiology says :

    Good stuff I’ve bookmarked this in Digg under “Dark and Disorderly by Bernita Harris | I READ GOOD”. So hopefully our friends can give you a visit. Keep up the good stuff.

  5. jenn says :

    Thanks, Chet! =)

Leave a Reply

