Allegra Fairweather: Paranormal Investigator by Janni Nell

Released: June 14, 2010
Format: e-book
Pages: 205
Publisher: Carina
ISBN-13: 978-1-4268-9011-6

Allegra Fairweather: Paranormal Investigator is Janni Nell‘s first novel, and also one of the first releases from Carina Press, a new e-first imprint from Harlequin. I received a copy of this e-book early, from Carina Press (thank you!), and I’m pleased to report that it’s a really fun book.

Just as the title says, Allegra Fairweather is a paranormal investigator. An incredibly tall, red-headed paranormal investigator with a 99.5% success rate. (We’re teased about the one case she couldn’t solve but there aren’t any details. Hopefully, they will be forthcoming if the book turns into a series since I find myself intrigued.)

In this story, she travels to Loch Furness (Scotland) at the request of a pub owner named Douglas, who’s found a bleeding rose, a sign that bad things are coming. In no time at all, she’s heard the local banshee wail, found a couple bodies, and been attacked by a centuries-old ghost, but Allegra perseveres, with the help of her incredibly handsome guardian angel Casper. I don’t want to say too much more about the plot since it’s an upcoming release, but I will say that it’s a very satisfying storyline.

Janni Nell has created a fun and interesting world. Allegra Fairweather: Paranormal Investigator contains some great characters, and the author does a nice job of building the mystery over the course of the novel. (There was one point where I figured out what was going on before Allegra, but that didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the story.) Allegra is a fun, determined protagonist, and the supporting cast all have distinct personalities, with the possible exception of the Big Bad, who seemed a bit cardboard to me. Overall, though, the novel is very entertaining, with some surprisingly funny moments along the way. I do hope that this becomes a series since it would be sad not to see more of Allegra.

Once again, a huge thank you to Carina Press for giving a copy of this e-book!

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Allegra Fairweather: Paranormal Investigator by Janni Nell”

  1. Cat says :

    The cover is very eye-catching. I would pick up the book based on that to check it out. The story itself also sounds fantastic, but I can’t read e-books (I get migraines way to easy) so I hope it will come out in book format at some point. I’ll remember the cover for sure!

  2. jenn says :

    Yeah, I love the cover. It’s absolutely gorgeous! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for a physical book format at some point, because this is definitely a story worth reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

