Service Included by Phoebe Damrosch

Released: September 2007
Format: e-book (also available as Trade Paperback)
Publisher: HarperCollins E-Books
ISBN-13: 978-0-06122-815-5

Service Included is Phoebe Damrosch‘s first book, a memoir about her time working at the swanky New York restaurant Per Se. It’s a decent book that gives the reader a lot of insight into the world of fancy restaurants and all of the backstage bustle, which is pretty interesting.  I really liked hearing about all of the preparation needed for each course and each table, and how much work actually goes into something like this. (Knowing that there’s a huge team at work to anticipate your needs makes the price of the meal seem slightly more reasonable.)

There’s also some personal stuff in there and, to be honest, I could have lived without the personal journey. Some of it is fun but it’s hard to support someone who knowingly begins a relationship with a coworker who already has a girlfriend, let alone one with a girlfriend who works at the self same restaurant. I commend the author for not shying away from this fact but it made it hard to like her at times.

Service Included was a book I really wanted to read and I’m glad that I did. Phoebe Damrosch has a really accessible writing style that makes the book fly by. I’d be interested to see what she comes up with next.

This book makes me 3/3 for the 2010 Awesome Author Challenge! I still need to read 5 more books about vampires to meet my other reading challenge goal, though, so wish me luck!

Tags: , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Awesome Authors Challenge 2010 – Complete! « I READ GOOD - July 17, 2010

Leave a Reply

