Walking Dead (The Walker Papers #4) by C.E. Murphy

Released: September 1, 2009
Format: Trade Paperback
Pages: 376
Publisher: Luna
ISBN-13: 978-0-373-80301-9

It’s been a long while since the last book in The Walker Papers (Coyote Dreams) came out. C.E. Murphy has been working on a couple other series – The Negotiator trilogy, which I didn’t love, and the Inheritors’ Cycle, which I haven’t tried. This has made me sad because I adore The Walker Papers series. Joanne is a fantastic protagonist and it’s really cool to see Aboriginal culture and tradition explored in an urban fantasy. Plus, the author incorporates aspects of other belief systems/mythologies, particularly Celtic stuff, which is really neat.

In this installment of the Walker Papers, Joanne is dealing with zombies. Honest to goodness zombies that show up as a result of an evil cauldron and Halloween. A lot of my favourite secondary characters are there, as always, plus a couple I wasn’t expecting, which is always fun.

There’s something about Joanne that really resonates with me. I don’t know if it’s the fact that she just plunges headlong because she can’t think of another solution, or the fact that she thinks in mechanic metaphors, or the fact that she’s wearing a Xena costume at the Halloween party that opens the book, but she’s a great character. I just want to know what else is going to happen around her, because bad things really do seem to happen around her. Can’t wait for the next installment, due out sometimes this year!

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Walking Dead (The Walker Papers #4) by C.E. Murphy”

  1. Cat says :

    I echo your thoughts on all 3 of C.E. Murphy’s series. Since I didn’t care for the Negotiator series I never picked up the other one. But Walker Papers are my first and true love.

    I found it was almost too long between this fourth book and the third. I had a lot of brain rummaging to do to remember the characters and what role they have been playing.

    Thanks for the update on when the next one is due to publish, I was just wondering that myself!

  2. jenn says :

    Yeah, I had the same problem. I really had to think to put all the characters back into place properly but it was so good to be back with them!

Leave a Reply

