Nick Hornby

I just read Juliet, Naked … which led me to read About A Boy … which led me to re-watch the movie About A Boy.

Release Date: September 2009
Pages: 416
Publisher: Riverhead
ISBN: 1594488878

Release Date: May 1999
Pages: 320
Publisher: Riverhead
ISBN:0965593894

These are the Nick Hornby works I’ve enjoyed. I can’t say the same for How to Be Good, High Fidelity, or Fever Pitch (although I did like both film versions of Fever Pitch).

Juliet, Naked surprised me. If I’d noticed that Nick Hornby was the author, I probably wouldn’t have picked it up, but the back cover sounded interesting, and once I started reading I could barely put it down. The characters are perfect. Duncan is 100% spot on as a nerdy music snob obsessed with a reclusive rock star; his beleauguered girlfriend Annie is a little less nuanced but much more likeable. I wasn’t very happy with the book’s ending (I think Hornby could have done something a bit less cliche), but the first 2/3 of the book is unputdownable.

I had already seen the film version of About A Boy so I knew, more or less, what I was in for when I read the book. The novel took place in the early 1990s rather than early 2000s so a few technology/pop culture details changed. I really enjoyed the flow of this book. I think it could have gotten really fragmented but it was smoothly written and satisfying in a fluffy, heartwarming way.

Leave a Reply

