Superstition by Karen Robards

Published: April 2005
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Putnam
Pages: 418
ISBN-10: 0-399-15280-6

I don’t get a lot of book recommendations from friends so I decided to take advantage of Amazon’s recommendation system to see if its computer brain could come up with ideas for me. It recommended Karen Robards since I’ve been reading Catherine Coulter‘s FBI series, Iris Johansen, Julie Garwood, Elizabeth Lowell and Nora Roberts. Karen Robards describes her writing as”thrillers combining romance and suspense” on her website so it seemed like a good idea to borrow one of her books from the library. I ended up going with Superstition since it’s relatively new and one of the books that my library had.

Superstition is set in Pawley Island, South Carolina. It tells the story of a police chief (Joe) and a reporter (Nicky) who get thrown together when a killer comes out of hiding after 15 years, based on a television special that Nicky puts together for her program. The premise sounded really good but I found the book to be only so-so. The characters were well developed but they didn’t grab my attention the way I’d hoped. The plot is okay but I found the resolution (i.e., who the killer was) to be sort of random and not that pleasing, which is my primary source of dissatisfaction with the story.

I may give the author another shot down the road but, for now, I think I’m going to move on to other pastures.

This book is 1/3 for my Awesome Authors Challenge 2010.

Tags: , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Awesome Authors Challenge 2010 – Complete! « I READ GOOD - July 17, 2010

Leave a Reply

