Deadtown by Nancy Holzner

Released: December 29, 2009
Format: e-book
Publisher: Ace
ISBN-13: 978-0-441-01813-0

I was excited about this book as soon as I heard about it. I’ve just finished reading it and I’m so happy with it that I’m posting about it right away!

Deadtown has a pretty unique concept. The title refers to a section of Boston that was hit by a plague, killing everyone in the area, or so they thought. Turns out it made everyone into zombies instead, and forced all of the paranormals out into the world to help deal with the plague.

The star of Deadtown is Vicky Vaughn, a demon slayer and shapeshifter. She does her best to keep Boston safe from demons while dating her relationship with workaholic lawyer (and werewolf) Alexander Kane is in constant limbo. Plus she’s got to deal with a lot of unwanted interest from a research scientist, a major demon and a politician. All of this makes for a fast-paced, fun story that takes the reader for a great ride.

Nancy Holzner‘s got a great writing style. Her characters are all individuals, the narrative is crisp and the story takes a lot of twists and turns. I read it as quickly as I could because I just couldn’t wait to hear how things turn for Vicky. Based on the author blurbs on the website, it seems like I’m not alone.

I don’t know if any other books are planned for this character but I sure hope there are. I guess it’s a bit early to tell but I’m going to keep checking in with the author’s website until I find out for sure.

F.Y.I., it’s also available as a mass market paperback but I decided to pick it up as an e-book since it was a bit cheaper that way. The cover on this book is so fantastic, though, that I rather wish I’d purchased a physical copy.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

