Prairie Tale: A Memoir by Melissa Gilbert

Prairie TaleReleased: June 9, 2009
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 367
Publisher: Simon Spotlight Entertainment
ISBN-13: 978-1-4165-9914-2

When I found out Melissa Gilbert was putting out an autobiography, I was intrigued. I grew up watching Little House on the Prairie, knew she’d married Bruce Boxleitner, had been the president of the Screen Actors Guild and had heard she was staring as Ma Ingalls in the Little House on the Prairie theatre production. I knew nothing about her personal life. Prairie Tale changed all that. She unflinchingly shares her truth and does so in a very readable manner. She does gloss over certain things but I think it’s because she doesn’t find them important, not because she wants to keep it hidden. It’s a very open account of her life thus far. I can only imagine that writing it was a cathartic experience.

I always find it difficult to review an autobiography because it’s someone’s life, told in their own words, so I think I’ll just say that I really enjoyed it and think it’s a good read. Check it out.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

