Legacy (Anna Strong #4) by Jeanne C. Stein

SteinLegacyReleased: 2008
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Pages: 296
Publisher: Ace
ISBN-13: 978-0-441-01626-6

I guess I should start this entry off by confessing that I’m not the biggest fan of this series. I find it reasonably interesting but I don’t jump up to by the books when they come out. I’ve had my copy of Legacy for almost a year now but have only now gotten around to picking it up since it keeps getting bumped down the ‘TBR’ queue in favour of some newer releases from my favourite authors.

Anna Strong was changed to a vampire against her will and struggles to maintain her human lifestyle, though she has finally accepted that she’s a vampire. She still has her business as a bounty hunter with David, her partner and an ex-NFL player with a complex romantic life. She still sees her family but they have no idea why she keeps dodging meals with them. And by this point, she’s also doing everything she can to distance herself from the vampire population, even killing Avery, the vampire who made her.

In Legacy, Anna has to deal with a werewolf named Sandra, who’s come to town with her pack to claim her legacy as Avery’s widow. Plus she has to deal with helping David’s ex, Gloria, dodge a murder charge even though she can’t stand the woman, and with trying to maintain a good relationship with her family.

I found this book to be surprisingly satisfying. Anna’s still not my favourite character and I’m really tired of David but Jeanne C. Stein has created a really interesting story here, and built some great new features into her mythology, giving a slightly different spin on how werewolves originated (which was very reminiscent of the Underworld movies) and how they change shape (which was really neat and original). I also like that Anna has grown over the course of the novels; she may not be the easiest protagonist to like but she’s got a strong personality and has evolved over the course of these four novels, which is something I like to see in series. Perhaps I’ll be a bit quicker to pick up the next book in Anna’s saga…

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

