Disappearing Nightly (Esther Diamond #1) by Laura Resnick

ResnickDisappearingNightlyReleased: December 1, 2005
Format: Trade Paperback
Pages: 312
Publisher: Luna
ISBN: 0-373-80233-1

I tend to pick up, or at least consider, books put out by Luna. Some of my favourite books – Michelle Sagara‘s Chronicles of Elantra, C.E. Murphy‘s Walker Papers, Laura Anne Gilman‘s Retrievers series, Maria V. Synder‘s Study and Glass series, Anne Kelleher‘s Through the Shadowlands books – have been published by Luna and so I check their website on a fairly regular basis. Disappearing Nightly is a Luna publication but, unfortunately, it doesn’t really stand up with the rest.

I noticed the book when it first came out in 2005 but the premise didn’t really catch me. Plus being blurbed by Mary Jo Putney isn’t very compelling, at least not to me. I suppose I should have left well enough alone but it was in the bargain bin at the bookstore the other day so I picked it up.

Disappearing Nightly is about an actress, Esther, who’s working as a chorus girl in a production about magic when the lead actress actually disappears into thin air. Esther starts getting warnings about stepping into the role, which leads her on an adventure, trying to figure out what happened to the lead actress. Her investigation quickly turns to the magical, which she must figure out while trying to keep her new lead without actually performing the trick that led to the first girl disappearing.

The characters aren’t that interesting, the plot not that compelling and the resolution sort of predictable. I didn’t really like Esther that much and found a lot of the exposition really dragged. The author’s website says that there’s another Esther Diamond book on the way next year but I think I’m going to avoid it. A very unsatisfying book.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

