My Soul to Take (Soul Screamers #1) by Rachel Vincent

VincentMSTTReleased: August 1, 2009
Format: Trade Paperback
Pages: 279
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
ISBN-13: 978-0-373-21003-9

My Soul to Take is the first installment in Rachel Vincent‘s first YA series. It’s also the first book off the press for Harlequin Teen, so I was curious to see how it would turn out. I read the e-prequel, My Soul to Lose, a while ago and it got me pretty excited for My Soul to Take.

This book is about Kaylee Cavanaugh, your average teenager but with the ability to sense when someone is about to die. She knows it’s going to happen because she has an overwhelming urge to scream. It turns out she’s a bean sidhe (or banshee, as the more common spelling would have it), and spends most of the novel discovering what that means. She’s also got a budding romance with Nash, one of the school jocks, and they team up when girls start dropping dead.

While I didn’t find the book as satisfying as the author’s Shifters series, mostly because of the shorter length, I enjoyed it quite a lot. Kaylee’s a great protagonist and the outcome of the book wasn’t what I expected. There were some neat reveals at the end which will hopefully impact the next book, which comes out next year. It seems like this is a great place to start and I look forward to seeing where Rachel Vincent takes Kaylee from here.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

