Cast in Silence (Chronicles of Elantra #5) by Michelle Sagara

SagaraCastinSilence**I wrote this post once and WordPress decided to eat it. Apologies if it’s not super eloquent but I’m typing in a cloud of frustration right now.**

Released: August 1, 2009
Format: Trade Paperback
Pages: 461
Publisher: Luna
ISBN-13: 978-0-373-80300-2

In Kaylin’s fifth outing, she has to go back to the fiefs. Not Nightshade, but a new fief, at least to the readers. This time around, Kaylin and company are sent to Barren, a fief that neighbours Nightshade. They’ve been having problems with things emerging from the heart of the fiefs, which is never good, and so Kaylin and Severn are dispatched to investigate, along with one of my favourite characters, Tiamaris.

In Cast in Silence, Michelle Sagara finally reveals what Kaylin did after she fled Nightshade and how she became a Hawk. It’s great to finally have this knowledge because it makes Kaylin more interesting, and more sympathetic, at least in my eyes. There’s a lot of self-torture going on in her world, especially for someone who’s supposed to be about twenty.

This book, like all of the others in the series, has a fast-moving plot line and great characters. There are also a couple of lines of dialogue that made me laugh out loud, especially the one about sweating. (You’ll know it when you get there.) I think I’ll get a lot more out of it when I re-read it, since I was in such a hurry to find out what was going to happen next, but I still loved the story and am very excited to read the next installment, which will hopefully deal with the ramifications of everyone’s actions in this book.

I’m sure there were other things in this post the first time I wrote it but that’s all I’ve got now. Feel free to start a discussion in the comments section!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

