My Soul to Lose (Soul Screamers prequel) by Rachel Vincent

RachelVincentMSTLIt’s my birthday so I’m putting out an extra post. (Three cheers for aging!)

Rachel Vincent is one of my favourite authors. Her werecats novels are fantastic – I’m getting ready to read the fourth one soon – so I was very excited when I heard she was starting a new YA series about a banshee, or bean sidhe as she calls her. My Soul to Lose is an e-prequel she published a month before the My Soul to Take (the first novel)’s release.

My Soul to Lose starts off with Kaylee, our young bean sidhe, going to the mall with her best friend Emma. While at the mall, she suffers one of her panic attacks – or at least what she thinks is a panic attack because she hasn’t realized her powers – and is set to a mental institution. My Soul to Lose spends most of its 70 pages exploring Kaylee’s confusion about her state, wondering if she’s crazy. It also introduces a neat character named Lydia, whom I hope shows up in later stories.

I don’t have too much to say about My Soul to Lose, other than it’s a great tease for the first book in the series. Can’t wait to start reading My Soul to Take!

Leave a Reply

