Not Buying It: My Year Without Shopping by Judith Levine

LevineNotBuyingItThis book was recommended on one of the sites I read – can’t remember which one off the top of my head but I think it may have been Entertainment Weekly – and I thought it had a really interesting premise. Not Buying It is all about purchasing only the essentials for a whole year and how this affected the author and her husband. Most of the focus is on how it changed their outlook and habits, which was really neat. There are also some denser passages that deal with economics and philosophy that I didn’t enjoy as much but, overall, it’s a decent book. I don’t know that I’d recommend this to just anyone, though. I picked it up thinking it was going to be an autobiography and it ended up coming off as more of a treatise on how to live your life, which was interesting but I wasn’t as engaged by the material as I thought I would be. The fact that was much more didactic than anticipated really put me off at some points. The parts that are written more conversationally, however, are really entertaining and informative without being too heavy to absorb.

One response to “Not Buying It: My Year Without Shopping by Judith Levine”

  1. matt says :

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

Leave a Reply

