French Milk by Lucy Knisley

KnisleyFrenchMilkI picked this book up because Whitney Matheson, who writes Pop Candy for USA Today, talked about it in her column. Although our tastes aren’t identical – she’s far more indie than I will ever be – we do share a love of graphic novels. And this book is the author’s journal of her time in Paris with her mother, chronicled in comic form. As a big fan of Persepolis, another drawn biography, this was not a tough sell.

As it turns out, I liked this book but didn’t love it. Compared to Persepolis, which is set Iran during a period of upheaval, French Milk is a lot fluffier. It’s still a very fun read, though, and I enjoyed it very much. I guess I was just hoping for a bit more insight into the author’s mind, rather than a day by day accounting of her life. I think I would have liked it a lot more if I’d had a better sense of what it was about, so the fault is mine, not the author’s.

Leave a Reply

