White Lies (Arcane Society #2) by Jayne Ann Krentz

JayneAnnKrentzWhiteLiesI recently read the third book in Jayne Ann Krentz‘ Arcane Society series and found it okay so I figured I might as well pick up another installment from the series when I was at the library this week. I ended up with White Lies, the second book in the series, and found it much more enjoyable than Sizzle and Burn. I still found the characters somewhat underdeveloped, but not to the same extent as in Sizzle and Burn; overall, it’s a fun, quick read for a lazy morning.

One aspect of the book that I found really interesting was the way that the female protagonist Clare’s powers forced her to adjust her world view. As a human lie detector, she was basically presented with two options: live as a hermit or accept that everyone lies on a regular basis. Obviously, she chose the latter but what I really liked was the way she (and the author) described her perspective. It’s not a major component of the book but it’s something I found rather compelling.

As it turns out, the first and fourth books in this series are historical (and written as Amanda Quick) so I’m not sure if I’ll pick them up; I have to be in the right mood for historical fiction. If I do, you can be sure I’ll share my thoughts here.

Tags:

2 responses to “White Lies (Arcane Society #2) by Jayne Ann Krentz”

  1. fullybook says :

    I have lots of Jayne Ann Krentz in my site. Check it out!

  2. jenn says :

    Cool, thanks!

Leave a Reply

