No Rest for the Wicked (Immortals After Dark #2) by Kresley Cole

This is the first time I’ve picked up a Kresley Cole novel.  I’ve been thinking about reading her for a while but wasn’t sure if the books would be a good investment.  As it turns out, I didn’t have to buy a copy since the local library had one of her books: No Rest for the Wicked.

In this world, vampires are dead until they meet their Bride.  This meeting, in which they are blooded, gives them a heartbeat (and an erection, since these are paranormal romances, after all).  This happens early on for our male protagonist, Sebastian, and he spends the rest of the book pursuing his Bride, Kaderin the Cold Hearted, who’s competing in a supernatural competition, consisting of a variety of tasks.

I liked this book a lot more than I thought I would.  The characters are fun, the story engaging and the writing smooth.  No major jarring out of the story by bad grammar or weird punctuation or anything, which is really important to me since typos always throw me out of the story.  All in all, it was a pretty entertaining book.  I’m not going to buy the others in the series, though, since I don’t think it’s purchase-worthy, at least not for me, but I’m definitely going to be checking the library stacks on a regular basis!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

