Swallowing Darkness (Merry #7) by Laurell K. Hamilton

LKHSwallowingDarknessI’m not really sure where to begin with this book.  I tried to take my time reading it so that I could absorb all the details but I needed to know what happens to Merry and her men so I flew right through.

This book picks up right where A Lick of Frost left off – dealing with the after-effects of being raped by Taranis and with her pregnancy – and really throws the reader straight into it.  This is one of the things I really like about this series – the way Laurell K. Hamilton hasn’t skipped too much time between events. There were longer gaps between the early books but now we just get step after step of the action and it’s great.

Other things that I loved about this book…Merry’s grief over Frost, the way her feelings about being pregnant and having to deal with all this other stuff is portrayed, the different ways the men react to her pregnancy…The list would go on and on.  And I don’t want to say too much about the plot at this point, since the book hasn’t been out too long, but I will say that I was very happy with how the book ended.

For those who think it’s also the end of the series, it’s not, from the blog of Hamilton herself.  This makes me happy because the book had a lot of plot and character development.  This renewed focus on the storyline is wonderful although Hamilton, unlike some other authors, uses the sex-as-plot-advancement device quite well.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

