Any Given Doomsday (Phoenix Chronicles #1) by Lori Handeland

LoriHandelandAnyGivenDoomsdayFirst off, I got this book thanks to the Early Reviewers group on LibraryThing.com.  Wooo, advance reader copies!  Since this was a free book, and it makes me feel cool because it’s got “ARC” stamped on it, I feel sort of bad saying that I didn’t really like it.

Any Given Doomsday is billed as urban fantasy but it’s really more of a sexcapade with a loose, urban fantasy plot tossed in.  This is Lori Handeland‘s first book in a series about one woman’s destiny to lead the forces of good against the forces of evil as a seer and a DK (demon killer).  (Not my terminology.)  The blurb sounds good, and the book starts off like it’s going to be a good read but I stopped enjoying it partway through.  Once again, it’s not that I’m squeamish about sex in books or anything, but I hate it when it seems like the author’s tossing it in for the sake of sexing up the story, and this is what it felt like here.  Elizabeth has cool powers, the supporting characters are potential, especially Sawyer, the prose is okay, but there’s just something about this book that turned me off.  I guess it’s just a lot trashier than I anticipated.  My faith in Kelley Armstrong‘s blurbing is gone.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

