Cry Wolf (Alpha and Omega #1) by Patricia Briggs

I was so excited when I first heard that Patricia Briggs was doing a spin-off of her Mercy Thompson series.  So desperately excited, because it was to be based on a short story she’d published in an anthology that I loved.  (The story, not the anthology.)  When the book finally came out earlier this year, I devoured it and I recently felt the urge to re-read the story, mostly because I’d lent it to my friend Ben and he enjoyed it, despite having never read the short story.  (He did mention that he felt a bit out of it at times, because he hadn’t read the short story, but found it generally accessible since he has read the Mercy Thompson books.)

Anyways, I’m pleased to report that the book holds up really well.  Even though I knew what was going to happen, I thoroughly enjoyed it.  I even found myself racing through certain parts, hurrying to see what was going to happen, even though I knew, because I was just that caught up in the story.  I mean this in the most positive sense; I find Briggs’ writing just that captivating.

What I particularly loved about this book is the fact that we get to learn more about werewolf life in Briggs’ world, and about the Marrok and his clan in particular.  I really liked the glimpses we saw of Samuel since they coincide with events taking place in the Mercy books.  I’m also really happy that Briggs is exploring the omega wolf idea a lot more here, because I think it’s a really innovative spin on werewolf social structure.  The one thing I’m not super fond of is the cover.  The art’s not the greatest.  Anna – at least I’m assuming it’s Anna – looks kind of possessed and evil here.  And now that I’m looking at it more closely, Charles looks pretty dang grumpy too.  But the author doesn’t do the cover and really, you don’t see it when you’re reading the book, so it doesn’t detract from the story.  It does, however, make it a little bit difficult to lend the book out as an introduction to Briggs’ writing.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

