Living with the Dead (Otherworld #9) by Kelley Armstrong

Kelley Armstrong is one of my favourite authors.  Aside from the fact that she’s Canadian, and I’m a huge supporter of homegrown talent, Armstrong is also one of the first urban fantasy authors I’ve read.  She’s also created a series of books in which the narrator shifts from book to book, enabling her, and consequently her readers, to explore different parts of her world.

This book is written from a variety of perspectives, something Armstrong started in the last book, Personal Demon.  It’s not a device I’m particularly fond of, but I found it less jarring in this book, at least compared to the last one.  I was surprised by this, since it jumps from character to character more quickly in Living with the Dead.

I suppose I’m getting a little ahead of the game, since I haven’t had a chance to give a general description of the book.  Two of the main characters in this book will be familiar to fans of this series: Hope, the half-Expisco demon reporter, and Karl, the werewolf thief.  Living with the Dead also introduces us to Hope’s friend Robin, as well as a slew of other characters, including a necromancer detective named Finn, a ghost, and a couple baddies for good measure.  It’s a very full novel, but the characters are introduced in such a way that the reader’s not overwhelmed.

I didn’t particularly like Hope in the Personal Demon, but she’s redeemed herself for me in this book.  This book had a better plot, and I really liked how Hope’s conflict with her powers was portrayed.  I’m also a big Karl fan, so any book with him makes me happy.  (The werewolves are the best part of this series for me.)   I’m happy to say that I enjoyed this book more than the last one, and I’m super excited about next year’s book since Frostbitten is all about Clay and Elena.

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Living with the Dead (Otherworld #9) by Kelley Armstrong”

  1. Adele / Hagelrat says :

    I love Armstrong, can’t wait to get my hands on this latest. If you are looking for Canadian authors who do great werewolf books you should check out K Bannerman.
    http://hagelrat.blogspot.com/search/label/K%20Bannerman

  2. Adele / Hagelrat says :

    I love Armstrong and can’t wait to get hold of this one. If you want Canadian authors who write good werewolf books try K Bannerman.
    http://hagelrat.blogspot.com/search/label/K%20Bannerman

    (if this double posts sorry, it didn’t look as though it wentthrough.

  3. Hagelrat says :

    I loved this one, but then i’ve loved all of them.

  4. jenn says :

    I thought the plot was cool, I’m just not a huge fan of the constantly changing POV. But I do love anything this lady writes.

Leave a Reply

