Dead Until Dark (Southern Vampire #1) by Charlaine Harris

This is one of the first books I picked up when I started reading urban fantasy and paranormal romance, and it’s the beginning of a series I’ve enjoyed immensely.  I often re-read these books, especially in the summer when the new addition is released, and always find them delightful.  I thought now would be a good time to comment on at least the first book in the series, with the premiere of True Blood, which I have already discussed here.

The protagonist of this series is a telepathic waitress named Sookie Stackhouse.  Dead Until Dark starts with her first encounter with a vampire, who walks into the bar she works in.  The book is about how her relationship with Vampire Bill devlops, and also about a series of murders occurring her her northern Louisiana community of Bon Temps.

Sookie makes a great protagonist because she’s written with humour and is really likeable.  The other characters in the book are great and re-reading the story, knowing what happens over the next seven books or so, makes Dead Until Dark even more wonderful.  My favourite character from this book, aside from Sookie, is probably Sam, her boss.  It may just be because he reminds me of someone I know but he’s a great character and his relationship with Sookie is nicely complex.

This book stands alone really well but is also a great introduction to the series.  I’m hoping to re-read the rest of the books soon so expect more thoughts!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

