If Angels Burn (Darkyn #1) by Lynn Viehl

This is the first time I’ve picked up a book by Lynn Viehl and I was unimpressed.  For someone who has published forty novels in five genres (at least according to her website), I really thought that this book would be a lot better.  The reviews on Chapters‘ website were sort of polarized but I figured I would give it a chance anyways.  Unfortunately, it seems like the naysayers were right.  With the exception of Alexandra, the female lead, the characters were underdeveloped, the plot was a bit all over the place, and there was no chemistry between the two protagonists.  The book was this strange mishmash of concepts that just never gelled; I’m not sure how this book spawned a series.

One thing I do enjoy is the mythology Viehl created about the origin of her vampires.  (MILD SPOILER)  The idea that they use to be Templar Knights is pretty neat, as is the concept of vampirism as a disease rather than a curse, although I have read or seen the latter other places.  (SPOILER ENDS)  I also liked that the protagonist was feisty and had her own opinions but that’s where my appreciation ends, I’m afraid.

As far as paranormal romance goes, I’d much rather read something by Gena Showalter or Nalini Singh.  Their world building is better, the storylines are tighter and their work has more re-readability.  I won’t be following up with this series, at least not as purchases; if I can get the next book from the library, though, I may give it a chance.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

